Sunday, 18 June 2017

Chosen Men: Austria


I've been working on some extra content for Chosen Men for a while now, and I'm pleased to announce the first fruits of my labours is ready for public consumption. The Austrian army is ready to take to the field!

You can download the list for free here.

And finally, a bit of historical background for those who like that sort of thing...

Often defeated, and sometimes bowed into submission, Austria’s army were nonetheless always ready to renew the fight. Each time, they learned from past mistakes; each time, they were that much more experienced. From the time of Napoleon’s first campaign in Italy to his surrender almost two decades later, Austria remained the staunchest threat to his aspirations.

The Austrian army that fought Napoleon in 1796 was a relic. Its troops paid dearly for their officers’ lack of ability and the conservatism of their commanders-in-chief. After their defeat in the Italian campaign, Archduke Charles reformed the army, switching the emphasis from linear tactics to manageable battlefield formations. When the army was defeated again in 1800 and 1805, those reforms had still not taken full effect, leaving the commanders frustrated.


It was a very different case in 1809, when the reorganised and rejuvenated Austrian army – the largest army in the world at that time – inflicted a humiliating defeat on Napoleon at Aspern-Essling, before succumbing to the French juggernaut at Wagram. However, emboldened by its partial success, the army introduced further reforms, creating Army Corps in the French style. For a time the Austrians fought alongside the French, marching with Napoleon into Russia in 1812, though their hearts were never in the fight. In 1813, the Austrians declared war again, and their commitment was not in question. The Austrian army harried the French all the way back to Paris, and their efforts were instrumental in Napoleon’s final defeat.

4 comments:

  1. Hi Mark

    We spoke in Twitter and I have some question I hope you can clear up:

    1) Canon Shots (pg. 33 - 35) - It talks about a target marker. What is the size of the target market? If hit, does the damage apply to the whole unit or just models under the target market?

    2) Cauldron of War - Option #3 describes a morale check (pg. 9). Is that the same as a Command Check?

    3) Fleeing because you lost a combat - Two Cavalry engage. My friend loses combat and loses his Command check. He rolls an 11 to flee, I roll 13 to catch him. His unit is removed from play. What happens to my unit - do I move the 13" or do i stay where I am?

    4) What happens if the Major or Colonel is killed in battle? Does that army have any checks they have to make?

    5) In combat during resolution of you tie - do both parties just stay locked in battle?

    I look forward to your answers. Again, thank you for publishing such a fine set of rules!!

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Apologies for the late response!

      1) Canon Shots (pg. 33 - 35) - It talks about a target marker. What is the size of the target market? If hit, does the damage apply to the whole unit or just models under the target market?
      >> The size of the marker is not important – it is there to indicate a small point on the battlefield. Use something small, like a dice, so as not to gain an unfair advantage. Damage is always applied to units, removing one model at a time.

      2) Cauldron of War - Option #3 describes a morale check (pg. 9). Is that the same as a Command Check?

      >> Yes, my mistake.

      3) Fleeing because you lost a combat - Two Cavalry engage. My friend loses combat and loses his Command check. He rolls an 11 to flee, I roll 13 to catch him. His unit is removed from play. What happens to my unit - do I move the 13" or do i stay where I am?

      >> You remain in place – you’re assumed to catch the enemy as soon as they start to run. You only actually move if you fail to catch them.

      4) What happens if the Major or Colonel is killed in battle? Does that army have any checks they have to make?

      >> Rules as written, nothing happens.

      5) In combat during resolution of you tie - do both parties just stay locked in battle?

      >> Yes – make pile-in moves and tidy up combat.

      Delete
  2. No need to apologize - I appreciate your effort!! Thank you so much!

    ReplyDelete